University of Wisconsin–Madison

Campus Diversity Officers

As point person for diversity in school, college or division, the Diversity Officer or MDC (Multicultural Disadvantaged Coordinator) is charged to coordinate initiatives to promote and support the academic achievement of students—in particular, students from underrepresented and targeted groups. Diversity Officers or MDCs work with their administrative leaders, faculty and staff to address issues of climate in the classroom and workplace. In addition, they are regularly convened by the Vice Provost and Chief Diversity Officer, serving as one of the key working groups for the campus wide strategic priority to “enhance diversity and ensure excellence in education and research.”

Aaron Bird Bear

EDUCATION-Interim Assistant Dean for Student Diversity Programs

abirdbear@wisc.edu

Marianne Bird Bear

INTERNATIONAL STUDIES-Assistant Dean

mtbirdbear@international.wisc.edu

Tom Browne

AGRICULTURAL & LIFE SCIENCES-Assistant Dean for Minority Student Affairs

tbrowne@cals.wisc.edu

Susan Degrand

PHARMACY-Director of Outreach, Recruitment & Diversity

susan.degrand@wisc.edu

Mary Fitzpatrick

ENGINEERING-Director of Diversity Research and Initiatives

mfitzpatrick@engr.wisc.edu

Mel Freitag

NURSING-Director of Diversity Affairs

mbfreitag@wisc.edu

Mike Hall

LAW SCHOOL-Director of Student Life

mahall2@wisc.edu

LaRuth McAfee

GRADUATE SCHOOL-Assistant Dean for Diversity, Inclusion and Funding

laruth.mcafee@wisc.edu

Annette McDaniel

HUMAN ECOLOGY-Senior Assistant Dean

amcdaniel@wisc.edu

Binnu Palta Hill

BUSINESS-Director of Diversity

bhill@bus.wisc.edu

Ruby Paredes

Assistant Vice Chancellor & Campus Minority Diversity Coordinator

ruby.paredes@wisc.edu

(608) 262-5175

Carmen Reamer

Veterinary Medicine-Student Services Program Manager

reamerc@svm.vetmed.wisc.edu

Martin Rouse

CONTINUING STUDIES-ASSISTANT DEAN

martin.rouse@wisc.edu

Rebecca Ryan

ENVIRONMENTAL STUDIES-Senior Student Services Coordinator

rjryan@wisc.edu

Manuel Santiago

MEDICINE & PUBLIC HEALTH-Director of Multicultural Affairs

msantiago3@wisc.edu

Doug Tiedt

ATHLETICS-Senior Associate Director

dat@athletics.wisc.edu

DeVon Wilson

LETTERS AND SCIENCE-Assistant Dean

dlwilson@lssaa.wisc.edu